Maori Hockey tournaments in general were prevalent throughout the 40s, 50s and 60s, often held in the East Coast of the North Island throughout the bay of plenty and in the Waikato Maniapoto district. When the number dwindled, national women’s hockey representative, coach and “mother of Maori hockey”, Margaret Hiha (Ngati Rangitihi, Te Arawa) decided to push the revitalization of Maori involvement in hockey and established a National Hockey Tournament.

The inaugural tournament was held in Napier in 1992 and hosted by the people of Takitimu waka region. Tournaments have been held annually and have been hosted by each of the Maori Hockey Districts (except the South Island) and are determined by the Maori Land Court boundaries.

According to the 2006 Census the Maori population in the region was just over 65,000 representing 11.6 percent of the total New Zealand Maori population.

The national tournament is held every year over Labour weekend and is an official listing on the NZ Hockey Federation calendar of events.

Maori Hockey Districts (Rohe)

The districts are based on Maori Land Court boundaries. These districts include:

  • Aotea – Taranaki, Whanganui, Manawatu, Horowhenua
  • Taitokerau – Northland
  • Tairawhiti – East Coast, Wairoa
  • Tamaki Makaurau – Auckland, North Harbour
  • Waikato-Maniapoto – Waikato-King Country
  • Waiariki – Wider Bay of Plenty
  • Takitimu – Hawke’s Bay, Wairarapa, Wellington
  • Te Waipounamu – South Island

The tournament gets shared across all rohe on a 6-8 year cycle. For the first time, the National Maori Tournament looks to be held in Te Wai Pounamu in 2014.

Tournament Venues since 1992

1992 Takitimu, Napier
1993 Waiariki, Rotorua
1994 Tairawhiti, Gisborne
1995 Aotea, Palmerston North
1996 Taitokerau, Whangarei
1997 Tamaki Makaurau, Auckland
1998 Waikato-Maniapoto, Hamilton
1999 Takitimu, Wellington
2000 Waiariki, Rotorua
2001 Aotea, Stratford
2002 Taitokerau, Whangarei
2003 Tamaki Makaurau, Auckland
2004 Waikato-Maniapoto, Hamilton
2005 Takitimu, Napier
2006 Waiariki, Rotorua
2007 Aotea, Palmerston North
2008 Taitokerau, Whangarei
2009 Tamaki Makaurau, Auckland
2010 Waikato-Maniapoto, Hamilton
2011 Takitimu, Napier
2012 Waiariki, Rotorua
2013 Aotea, Wanganui
2014 Te Waipounamu, Christchurch
2015 Tai Tokerau, Whangarei
2016 Tamaki Makaurau, Auckland
2017 Waikato-Maniapoto, Hamilton
2018 Waiariki, Rotorua