2017 Tournament

In 2017 the National Maori Hockey Tournament was held in Hamilton over the Labour Weekend 20th to 23rd October and hosted by Waikato-Maniapoto Maori Hockey.  The tournament winners were Te Tai Tokerau who took out both the Wahine (Women) and Tane (Men) competitions.

2017 Rohe Final Rankings

Rohe Score
Tairawhiti 4
Tamaki Makaurau 4.67
Taitokerau 5.5
Takitimu 5.67
Waikato-Maniapoto 6
Waiariki 6.75
Te Waipounamu 7
Aotea 10

Score = SUM of each Rohe Team Position divided by the Number of Rohe Teams e.g. Tairawhiti Tane (6) & Tairawhiti Wahine (2)  which is 8 / 2 = 4. Rohe with a lower score performed well at Tournament.

Note – Rohe with less teams that perform well will likely score higher than Rohe with more teams, e.g. “B teams”, who score lower, bringing the average down.